Tags

Type your tag names separated by a space and hit enter

Fruits, vegetables and breast cancer risk: a systematic review and meta-analysis of prospective studies.
Breast Cancer Res Treat 2012; 134(2):479-93BC

Abstract

Evidence for an association between fruit and vegetable intake and breast cancer risk is inconclusive. To clarify the association, we conducted a systematic review and meta-analysis of the evidence from prospective studies. We searched PubMed for prospective studies of fruit and vegetable intake and breast cancer risk until April 30, 2011. We included fifteen prospective studies that reported relative risk estimates and 95 % confidence intervals (CIs) of breast cancer associated with fruit and vegetable intake. Random effects models were used to estimate summary relative risks. The summary relative risk (RR) for the highest versus the lowest intake was 0.89 (95 % CI: 0.80-0.99, I (2) = 0 %) for fruits and vegetables combined, 0.92 (95 % CI: 0.86-0.98, I (2) = 9 %) for fruits, and 0.99 (95 % CI: 0.92-1.06, I (2) = 20 %) for vegetables. In dose-response analyses, the summary RR per 200 g/day was 0.96 (95 % CI: 0.93-1.00, I (2) = 2 %) for fruits and vegetables combined, 0.94 (95 % CI: 0.89-1.00, I (2) = 39 %) for fruits, and 1.00 (95 % CI: 0.95-1.06, I (2) = 17 %) for vegetables. In this meta-analysis of prospective studies, high intake of fruits, and fruits and vegetables combined, but not vegetables, is associated with a weak reduction in risk of breast cancer.

Authors+Show Affiliations

Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Public Health, Imperial College London, St. Mary's Campus, Norfolk Place, Paddington, London, W2 1PG, UK. d.aune@imperial.ac.ukNo affiliation info availableNo affiliation info availableNo affiliation info availableNo affiliation info availableNo affiliation info availableNo affiliation info available

Pub Type(s)

Journal Article
Meta-Analysis
Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
Review
Systematic Review

Language

eng

PubMed ID

22706630

Citation

Aune, D, et al. "Fruits, Vegetables and Breast Cancer Risk: a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Prospective Studies." Breast Cancer Research and Treatment, vol. 134, no. 2, 2012, pp. 479-93.
Aune D, Chan DS, Vieira AR, et al. Fruits, vegetables and breast cancer risk: a systematic review and meta-analysis of prospective studies. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2012;134(2):479-93.
Aune, D., Chan, D. S., Vieira, A. R., Rosenblatt, D. A., Vieira, R., Greenwood, D. C., & Norat, T. (2012). Fruits, vegetables and breast cancer risk: a systematic review and meta-analysis of prospective studies. Breast Cancer Research and Treatment, 134(2), pp. 479-93. doi:10.1007/s10549-012-2118-1.
Aune D, et al. Fruits, Vegetables and Breast Cancer Risk: a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Prospective Studies. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2012;134(2):479-93. PubMed PMID: 22706630.
* Article titles in AMA citation format should be in sentence-case
TY - JOUR T1 - Fruits, vegetables and breast cancer risk: a systematic review and meta-analysis of prospective studies. AU - Aune,D, AU - Chan,D S M, AU - Vieira,A R, AU - Rosenblatt,D A Navarro, AU - Vieira,R, AU - Greenwood,D C, AU - Norat,T, Y1 - 2012/06/16/ PY - 2011/07/11/received PY - 2012/05/26/accepted PY - 2012/6/19/entrez PY - 2012/6/19/pubmed PY - 2012/12/10/medline SP - 479 EP - 93 JF - Breast cancer research and treatment JO - Breast Cancer Res. Treat. VL - 134 IS - 2 N2 - Evidence for an association between fruit and vegetable intake and breast cancer risk is inconclusive. To clarify the association, we conducted a systematic review and meta-analysis of the evidence from prospective studies. We searched PubMed for prospective studies of fruit and vegetable intake and breast cancer risk until April 30, 2011. We included fifteen prospective studies that reported relative risk estimates and 95 % confidence intervals (CIs) of breast cancer associated with fruit and vegetable intake. Random effects models were used to estimate summary relative risks. The summary relative risk (RR) for the highest versus the lowest intake was 0.89 (95 % CI: 0.80-0.99, I (2) = 0 %) for fruits and vegetables combined, 0.92 (95 % CI: 0.86-0.98, I (2) = 9 %) for fruits, and 0.99 (95 % CI: 0.92-1.06, I (2) = 20 %) for vegetables. In dose-response analyses, the summary RR per 200 g/day was 0.96 (95 % CI: 0.93-1.00, I (2) = 2 %) for fruits and vegetables combined, 0.94 (95 % CI: 0.89-1.00, I (2) = 39 %) for fruits, and 1.00 (95 % CI: 0.95-1.06, I (2) = 17 %) for vegetables. In this meta-analysis of prospective studies, high intake of fruits, and fruits and vegetables combined, but not vegetables, is associated with a weak reduction in risk of breast cancer. SN - 1573-7217 UR - https://www.unboundmedicine.com/medline/citation/22706630/Fruits_vegetables_and_breast_cancer_risk:_a_systematic_review_and_meta_analysis_of_prospective_studies_ L2 - https://doi.org/10.1007/s10549-012-2118-1 DB - PRIME DP - Unbound Medicine ER -