Tags

Type your tag names separated by a space and hit enter

Safety of meningococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccine in pregnancy: a review of the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System.
Am J Obstet Gynecol. 2013 Jun; 208(6):478.e1-6.AJ

Abstract

OBJECTIVE

We characterized reports to the Vaccine Adverse Event (AE) Reporting System (VAERS) of pregnant women who received meningococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccine Menactra (MenACWY-D; Sanofi Pasteur Inc., Swiftwater, PA).

STUDY DESIGN

We searched VAERS for reports of pregnant women who received MenACWY-D from Jan. 1, 2005 through Dec. 31, 2011. We conducted clinical review of reports and available medical records.

RESULTS

Of 103 identified reports, 38 (36.7%) did not describe any AE. No maternal or infant deaths were reported. The most frequent pregnancy-specific AE was spontaneous abortion in 17 (16.5%) reports. Urinary tract infections and fever with vomiting were the most frequent nonpregnancy-specific AEs found in 4 (3.9%) and 3 (2.9%) reports, respectively. We identified 1 report with a major congenital anomaly (aqueductal stenosis and severe ventriculomegaly).

CONCLUSION

Our comprehensive review of reports to VAERS in pregnant women after MenACWY-D did not identify any concerning patterns in maternal, infant, or fetal outcomes.

Authors+Show Affiliations

Immunization Safety Office, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA, USA.No affiliation info availableNo affiliation info availableNo affiliation info available

Pub Type(s)

Journal Article
Review

Language

eng

PubMed ID

23453881

Citation

Zheteyeva, Yenlik, et al. "Safety of Meningococcal Polysaccharide-protein Conjugate Vaccine in Pregnancy: a Review of the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System." American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, vol. 208, no. 6, 2013, pp. 478.e1-6.
Zheteyeva Y, Moro PL, Yue X, et al. Safety of meningococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccine in pregnancy: a review of the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System. Am J Obstet Gynecol. 2013;208(6):478.e1-6.
Zheteyeva, Y., Moro, P. L., Yue, X., & Broder, K. (2013). Safety of meningococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccine in pregnancy: a review of the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 208(6), e1-6. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajog.2013.02.027
Zheteyeva Y, et al. Safety of Meningococcal Polysaccharide-protein Conjugate Vaccine in Pregnancy: a Review of the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System. Am J Obstet Gynecol. 2013;208(6):478.e1-6. PubMed PMID: 23453881.
* Article titles in AMA citation format should be in sentence-case
TY - JOUR T1 - Safety of meningococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccine in pregnancy: a review of the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System. AU - Zheteyeva,Yenlik, AU - Moro,Pedro L, AU - Yue,Xin, AU - Broder,Karen, Y1 - 2013/02/20/ PY - 2012/09/20/received PY - 2013/01/11/revised PY - 2013/02/18/accepted PY - 2013/3/5/entrez PY - 2013/3/5/pubmed PY - 2013/8/9/medline SP - 478.e1 EP - 6 JF - American journal of obstetrics and gynecology JO - Am J Obstet Gynecol VL - 208 IS - 6 N2 - OBJECTIVE: We characterized reports to the Vaccine Adverse Event (AE) Reporting System (VAERS) of pregnant women who received meningococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccine Menactra (MenACWY-D; Sanofi Pasteur Inc., Swiftwater, PA). STUDY DESIGN: We searched VAERS for reports of pregnant women who received MenACWY-D from Jan. 1, 2005 through Dec. 31, 2011. We conducted clinical review of reports and available medical records. RESULTS: Of 103 identified reports, 38 (36.7%) did not describe any AE. No maternal or infant deaths were reported. The most frequent pregnancy-specific AE was spontaneous abortion in 17 (16.5%) reports. Urinary tract infections and fever with vomiting were the most frequent nonpregnancy-specific AEs found in 4 (3.9%) and 3 (2.9%) reports, respectively. We identified 1 report with a major congenital anomaly (aqueductal stenosis and severe ventriculomegaly). CONCLUSION: Our comprehensive review of reports to VAERS in pregnant women after MenACWY-D did not identify any concerning patterns in maternal, infant, or fetal outcomes. SN - 1097-6868 UR - https://www.unboundmedicine.com/medline/citation/23453881/Safety_of_meningococcal_polysaccharide_protein_conjugate_vaccine_in_pregnancy:_a_review_of_the_Vaccine_Adverse_Event_Reporting_System_ L2 - https://linkinghub.elsevier.com/retrieve/pii/S0002-9378(13)00222-6 DB - PRIME DP - Unbound Medicine ER -