Tags

Type your tag names separated by a space and hit enter

Dietary Heterocyclic Amine Intake and Colorectal Adenoma Risk: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.
Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev. 2019 01; 28(1):99-109.CE

Abstract

BACKGROUND

Heterocyclic amines (HCA) are potent carcinogenic substances formed in meat. Because of their mutagenic activity, they may increase the risk of colorectal adenomas, which are the precursors of colorectal cancer, one of the most prevalent cancers worldwide. The aim of this meta-analysis was to synthesize the knowledge about the intake of HCAs and its associations with CRA.

METHODS

We conducted a systematic search in PubMed and EMBASE. We used odds ratios (OR); or relative risks, RR) from every reported intake and compared the highest versus lowest level of dietary HCAs. In addition, we assessed a dose-response relationship.

RESULTS

Twelve studies on HCA intake and risk of CRA were included in our analysis. We observed a statistically significant association when comparing top versus bottom intake category of 2-amino-1-methyl-6-phenylimidazo[4,5-b]pyridine [PhIP; OR = 1.20; 95% confidence interval (CI) = 1.12-1.29], 2-amino-3,8-dimethylimidazo[4,5-f]quinoxaline (MeIQx; OR = 1.20; 95% CI = 1.08-1.34), 2-amino-3,4,8-trimethylimidazo[4,5-f]quinoxaline (DiMeIQx; OR = 1.16; 95% CI = 1.05-1.27), benzo(a)pyrene (BaP; OR = 1.15; 95% CI = 1.04-1.27), and mutagenicity index (OR = 1.22; 95% CI = 1.06-1.41). Furthermore, we observed a significant dose-response effect for PhIP, MeIQx, and mutagenicity index.

CONCLUSIONS

This meta-analysis suggests that there is a positive association of HCAs, BaP, mutagenicity index with risk of CRA. In addition, our dose-response analyses showed an increased risk of CRA for PhIP, MeIQx, and mutagenicity index.

IMPACT

This study provides evidence for a positive association between the dietary intake of meat mutagens and CRA risk.

Authors+Show Affiliations

Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention Institute (EBPI), University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland.Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention Institute (EBPI), University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland. Cancer Registry of the Cantons Zurich and Zug, Zurich, Switzerland.Departamento de Medicina Legal y Toxicología, Facultad de Medicina de Granada, Universidad de Granada, Granada, Spain.University Center of Health Sciences at Klinikum Augsburg (UNIKA-T), Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich, Augsburg, Germany. Helmholtz Zentrum München, Institute of Epidemiology, Neuherberg, Germany.Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention Institute (EBPI), University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland. sabine.rohrmann@uzh.ch. Cancer Registry of the Cantons Zurich and Zug, Zurich, Switzerland.

Pub Type(s)

Journal Article
Meta-Analysis
Systematic Review

Language

eng

PubMed ID

30275115

Citation

Martínez Góngora, Victoria, et al. "Dietary Heterocyclic Amine Intake and Colorectal Adenoma Risk: a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis." Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention : a Publication of the American Association for Cancer Research, Cosponsored By the American Society of Preventive Oncology, vol. 28, no. 1, 2019, pp. 99-109.
Martínez Góngora V, Matthes KL, Castaño PR, et al. Dietary Heterocyclic Amine Intake and Colorectal Adenoma Risk: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev. 2019;28(1):99-109.
Martínez Góngora, V., Matthes, K. L., Castaño, P. R., Linseisen, J., & Rohrmann, S. (2019). Dietary Heterocyclic Amine Intake and Colorectal Adenoma Risk: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention : a Publication of the American Association for Cancer Research, Cosponsored By the American Society of Preventive Oncology, 28(1), 99-109. https://doi.org/10.1158/1055-9965.EPI-17-1017
Martínez Góngora V, et al. Dietary Heterocyclic Amine Intake and Colorectal Adenoma Risk: a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev. 2019;28(1):99-109. PubMed PMID: 30275115.
* Article titles in AMA citation format should be in sentence-case
TY - JOUR T1 - Dietary Heterocyclic Amine Intake and Colorectal Adenoma Risk: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. AU - Martínez Góngora,Victoria, AU - Matthes,Katarina L, AU - Castaño,Patricia Rodríguez, AU - Linseisen,Jakob, AU - Rohrmann,Sabine, Y1 - 2018/10/01/ PY - 2017/11/04/received PY - 2018/03/20/revised PY - 2018/09/20/accepted PY - 2018/10/3/pubmed PY - 2020/2/12/medline PY - 2018/10/3/entrez SP - 99 EP - 109 JF - Cancer epidemiology, biomarkers & prevention : a publication of the American Association for Cancer Research, cosponsored by the American Society of Preventive Oncology JO - Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev VL - 28 IS - 1 N2 - BACKGROUND: Heterocyclic amines (HCA) are potent carcinogenic substances formed in meat. Because of their mutagenic activity, they may increase the risk of colorectal adenomas, which are the precursors of colorectal cancer, one of the most prevalent cancers worldwide. The aim of this meta-analysis was to synthesize the knowledge about the intake of HCAs and its associations with CRA. METHODS: We conducted a systematic search in PubMed and EMBASE. We used odds ratios (OR); or relative risks, RR) from every reported intake and compared the highest versus lowest level of dietary HCAs. In addition, we assessed a dose-response relationship. RESULTS: Twelve studies on HCA intake and risk of CRA were included in our analysis. We observed a statistically significant association when comparing top versus bottom intake category of 2-amino-1-methyl-6-phenylimidazo[4,5-b]pyridine [PhIP; OR = 1.20; 95% confidence interval (CI) = 1.12-1.29], 2-amino-3,8-dimethylimidazo[4,5-f]quinoxaline (MeIQx; OR = 1.20; 95% CI = 1.08-1.34), 2-amino-3,4,8-trimethylimidazo[4,5-f]quinoxaline (DiMeIQx; OR = 1.16; 95% CI = 1.05-1.27), benzo(a)pyrene (BaP; OR = 1.15; 95% CI = 1.04-1.27), and mutagenicity index (OR = 1.22; 95% CI = 1.06-1.41). Furthermore, we observed a significant dose-response effect for PhIP, MeIQx, and mutagenicity index. CONCLUSIONS: This meta-analysis suggests that there is a positive association of HCAs, BaP, mutagenicity index with risk of CRA. In addition, our dose-response analyses showed an increased risk of CRA for PhIP, MeIQx, and mutagenicity index. IMPACT: This study provides evidence for a positive association between the dietary intake of meat mutagens and CRA risk. SN - 1538-7755 UR - https://www.unboundmedicine.com/medline/citation/30275115/Dietary_Heterocyclic_Amine_Intake_and_Colorectal_Adenoma_Risk:_A_Systematic_Review_and_Meta_analysis_ L2 - http://cebp.aacrjournals.org/cgi/pmidlookup?view=long&pmid=30275115 DB - PRIME DP - Unbound Medicine ER -